The deadliest force in the universe

The second account is progressing steadily, and a couple of days ago she finally finished Caldari Cruiser level II. Which means it was time to buy and fit a new ship! New shinies are always fun.

So it was shopping time in Jita. The Caracal cruiser hull itself was selling for the usual price of 3 million. I actually had one sitting in Jita that was unused, but what the hell she might as well get one for herself. This time, however, I spared almost no expense in fitting out her ship and splurged on meta 4s on most of the modules. When you have so few skillpoints, every little bit of survivability and dps helps. This was the fit I eventually settled on:

[Caracal, Heavy missiles]
Photonic CPU Enhancer I
Multiphasic Bolt Array I

Y-S8 Hydrocarbon I Afterburners
Medium C5-L Emergency Shield Overload I
V-M15 Braced Multispectral Shield Matrix x 2
Medium F-S9 Regolith Shield Induction

XR-3200 Heavy Missile Bay x 5 with Scourge Heavy missiles

She couldn’t actually use heavy missiles yet, so I bought her 5 ‘Arbalest’ Assault Missile launchers to tide her over until her skill training completed. The XR-3200’s and the Multiphasic Bolt Array were meta 3s, because the meta 4s were insanely priced. At 13.5 million ISK for one ‘Arbalest’ Heavy Missile Launcher and 19 million ISK for the ‘Pandemonium’ Ballistic Enhancement, that would have cost more than my entire Dominix plus fittings and rigs and drones. And it proved fortunate that I didn’t…

The fit is not cap stable, and may not actually be that great but it was enough for her to easily do level 1s. However, yesterday she encountered the most deadly foe that you can meet in New Eden…

Yaar?

Yes, those are his pants on his head. Why? I don’t know, it seemed like a good idea at the time.

I wasn’t at home at the time, but she was summoned midway through a mission by our son’s cries of anger at being woken up from his nap. As you can expect, active tank + non-stable cap + afk = “hi, welcome to EVE again, nice pod you have there.”

Understandably she was a bit upset about it, especially since she had set up a “panic” tab in her overview with only stations so that she could warp off quickly in an emergency, but it takes a bit of getting used to in order to remember to do it. At first she was a bit concerned about how to get back to her wreck since it was approaching downtime, but we realised she could just log on to Noork and bring his Dominix there while she hung around in her pod. I’m sure the Dominix just cruised past those level 1 frigates like a killer whale amidst a school of minnows and picked up her stuff while obliterating all enemies with tech 2 drones.

Fortunately, she was still using the assault missile launchers so at least the heavy launchers worth 25 million ISK were safe in her hangar. In fact, she completely lucked out because after examining the salvaged drops it turned out that she only lost the CPU upgrade, one ‘Arbalest’ assault launcher, and one V-M15 invulnerability field. All in all, module loss of only slightly more than 1 million ISK, and to top it off she managed to get a new Caracal hull for 2.5 million in Amarr (some guy selling it in a different station in the system for some reason… gotta love em), which means after the insurance payout her new ship only cost 1 million ISK.

The Dark Lord of Destruction almost claimed another ship later in the night, this time my little Punisher. My wife had a couple of storyline missions that only allowed frigates in, so she bought and fit another Kestrel (her original was in Jita) and I decided to tag along in the Punisher which I had fit to try out those little complexes I kept seeing all over the place. Man, missiles really rule in PvE. I would burn towards the enemy at 700 m/s with my afterburner, only to see a flight of 5 Bloodclaw missiles race past me at 3000 m/s and blow my target into scrap before I could even get in range of my pulse lasers. Eventually it became clear that my largest contribution would be burning towards them to get initial aggro and then making myself useful picking up the lousy loot drops from the wrecks.

Midway through the first storyline mission however, her baby detector went off again and she was off like a shot. This time, however, she remembered to quickly warp off to some random station first. I busied myself at her computer trying to warp back and navigate to the acceleration gate since we were a couple of rooms in. Suddenly I looked over to my Punisher and realised that my shields and armor were gone and I was at 70% structure since I wasn’t running my armor repairer and all the enemies were happily shooting me. I eventually survived after frantically turning on the armor repairer and scooting out to a 20 km orbit, but for the rest of the mission my Punisher had a long stream of fire coming out of its ass that looked like a really fancy afterburner.

One thought on “The deadliest force in the universe

  1. Seems like the really dangerous enemies aren’t the ones with red boxes around them! Yay for insurance!

    I’ve also almost lost ships to forgetting to turn my defenses on while being distracted, so I can imagine your reaction when you looked down and saw all that red!

    I didn’t have anything especially helpful to add, but I felt had to comment because the baby is too cute!

Leave a Reply

