Rabid Attack Rifters

Still training Minmatar Frigate V as of now, with about 6 days to go. Looking at my skill plan in EVEMon puts me at about 19 days to get most of the important gunnery skills up to 4, including T2 autocannons. Actually I could just go out right now and start blowing things up (most likely myself) but there’s no real rush.

I plan to do something similar to Nashh’s Project Rifter and put together a few Rifter packages to use up while hopefully learning something about low-sec PvP. My planned Rifter fit looks very similar to his, except with 150mm autocannons since I can’t fit the 200’s on without blowing the powergrid. Although one possibility is to mount a mix of 150s and 200s but I don’t think that’s a good idea. Another possibility is a powergrid implant, but I’m hesitant to use those since I foresee a lot of violent flaming clone death in my future.

I originally intended to get into Faction Warfare, but now I’m having second thoughts since Noork is my freighter pilot. I don’t want to have to worry about meeting a Gallente Militia blob somewhere when I’m piloting my huge defenceless Obelisk shipping valuable stuff around. Besides, it seems most of the fighting in faction warfare occurs in low-sec anyway so I can just hang around in those systems and try to find targets without being in the Caldari Militia. I plan on naming all my Rifters “Boo”, in honour of the miniature giant space hamster that accompanies the insane ranger Minsc in Baldur’s Gate 2. My battle cry shall be “Go for the eyes, Boo!!!” as I recklessly attack anything cruiser-sized and below.

On the trading side, I think I’m up to 10 billion ISK now in assets and orders but it’s hard to tell with a fair amount of ISK tied up in contracts. These can really be lucrative, it’s a shame I didn’t try it out sooner. Although it does take up additional time to check the market which can sometimes be a bit of a pain. I’ll probably be losing some ISK in the future with my Rifter shenanigans, and my 2x PLEXes per month will cost me 660 million ISK which is not to be sneezed at. But I think I’m still in the black so that’s not a problem.

Sometimes I wonder why people seem to have this disdain for the 0.01 bidding wars in Jita. When people comment about it on blog posts, I always seem to hear this undertone of “I’m above participating in such activity”. There’s no other way to explain why so many people like to change their bids by totally ridiculous amounts. Like… 5 ISK. Wow. Or 10 ISK. Really… that’s soooo different from 0.01 ISK. Do these people really feel happier about themselves? In practical terms it doesn’t really affect the market; while changing the price by 1 ISK instead of 0.01 ISK does represent a 100-fold increase in the rate of change of the price, in absolute terms it’s pretty negligible. However it just makes me shake my head and wonder why people have to do such silly pointless things just to feel like a special snowflake.

I also saw another trader put up 5 items for sale… in 5 batches of 1 item each, for the exact same price. I wonder if it’s someone who hasn’t figured out that you can post items in stacks, or someone who genuinely thinks it gives him some kind of advantage rather than just wasting their order slots.

Leave a Reply

