Exploration diaries – Part 4

The two dead-end systems near my base system continue to give me good results. I popped into one a few days ago and found that I was the only person in the system with 6 combat anomalies and 3 signatures. The signatures turned out to be 2 combat sites (Asteroid Infestation and Blood Lookout) and a data site.

I’ve been doing the scanning in my Travesty Tengu with Noork running sites in my Ishtar. Yes, I finally finished my Ishtar and Heavy Assault Ship training (only up to 4…) and so far I’ve been very pleased with the performance. Of course my Gila would have done just as well but the Ishtar’s new bonuses substantially improve sentry drone range and tracking, as well as allow me to use Ogre IIs very easily on frigates.

Ishtar - Armor AB

I was going to put a T2 sentry damage rig in the remaining slot, but I’m reconsidering because the sentries are already one-shotting most targets. The Garde IIs have a 64 km optimal with 12 km falloff, so I’m not carrying Bouncers anymore. For most anoms I just turn on AB, hardeners and repper and orbit something after launching Ogre IIs. The Ogres then automatically devastate everything while I continue scanning on the Tengu.

The anoms didn’t turn out to have much, although I did get a Sentient drone spawn. Didn’t get any salvage from it though. After finishing the anoms, I turned my attention to the sites. The Tengu warped to the data site after fleet warping the Ishtar to the Blood Lookout site.

This was the first time I had done this site, so I didn’t know what to expect. Turns out to be a whole lot of sentry blapping. The Ishtar targets pretty fast so I just sat at the warp in after deploying Gardes and blew everything away. Very satisfying, must have been similar to what those null-sec camps felt while blowing away the high-sec fleets during the live event. The second room was no different. It was only after I finished blapping and was idly looking around to see if there was anything else in the room that I noticed a Dark Blood wreck. Scooting over and looting revealed a Cruor faction frigate blueprint!

Cruor

Mottled, dark red, and shaped like a leech, the Cruor presents a fitting metaphor for the Blood Raiders’ philosophy. Designed almost solely to engage in their disturbingly effective tactic of energy draining and stasis webbing, this ship is a cornerstone in any effective Blood Raider fleet – and could play an intriguing role in more standard ones.

Special Ability: 100% bonus to Small Energy Turret damage

Amarr Frigate Skill Bonus: 15% bonus to Energy Vampire and Energy Neutralizer drain amount per level
Minmatar Frigate Skill Bonus: 10% bonus to the velocity factor of stasis webifiers per level

Not very useful to me, but cool nonetheless. The constructed ship seems to sell for 60-70 million ISK, and cost next to nothing in minerals so I popped the blueprint into my manufacturing station on the way back to base. Not sure if I’ll sell it or just keep it for my collection, although I really should just sell it and let someone else get some good use out of it rather than become a hangar doorstop. Now reading the EVElopedia page I realised I should have popped the Blood Raider Bunker for a chance of an escalation. I need to remember to check these things out before doing the sites next time.

Meanwhile the Tengu got a few more decryptors and two more blueprints from the data site, a Large Ancillary Armor Repairer BPC and useless Target Spectrum Breaker BPC. I need to schedule a logistics run to sell off all the stuff I’ve gathered from missions and exploring so I can catalogue how much I’ve earned. At least if I sell off the Cruor I’ll have finally made back most of what I spent on refitting the Tengu for exploration. I also picked up a low-grade Talisman Epsilon implant about a week ago, but it was only worth about 13 million.

Leave a Reply

