Tidying up

I’ve been enjoying running missions in the new Marauders. Despite my initial reservations, I have to thank CCP for these changes. The synergy with the mobile tractor unit, mobile depot and Bastion is pretty amazing. I’m even making more and more use of the MJD, although I still don’t use it for triangle jumping because that’s a lot of hassle. My fits are dual prop with MWD anyway for anything that’s not in convenient MJD range. The immunity to e-war is very nice, and the super tank lets me do things in even more stupid ways. I pulled Damsel in Distress, which normally has pretty high incoming damage if you warp to 0 into the mission. This time I warped in 20 km off and double Bastioned and tanked every single thing, which was pretty hilarious.

Hi guys, wassup!

Hi guys, wassup!

The Golem got surrounded by these Machariel-lookalikes spewing autocannon rounds. Unfortunately it had about the same effect as a gentle summer shower on my 1000-plus dps tank. Unfortunately I still managed to lose all 10 salvage drones to the explosion when I took out the Pleasure Garden. Guess that’s why I bought a stack of 200 of them, sigh.

Got another interesting moment while doing Massive Attack. The Paladin was Bastioned exactly 100km away after a MJD, and I aligned the Golem to the Paladin and MJDed too in order to assist in the salvage. Resulting in the following situation.

They started out as friends

They started out as friends

Maybe I should be expecting a baby Nightmare soon.

I finally also got my act together and decided to tidy up my mission base and sell off all the stuff I had accumulated there. It took a long long time to go through every thing, recycling anything under 25k ISK in value. Finally I loaded up my Orca and realised that I had 2 billion ISK in loot from missions and exploration. Even more amazing was that 450M ISK was in salvaged materials. I had only started playing EVE again on August 22, and I’m pretty sure somewhere between then and now I had already dumped a bunch of salvaged stuff to my factory station. So that means that, as infrequently as I run missions, I still managed to get half a billion in salvage in a couple of months. Wow.

Since I was going to Amarr, I also went on a PI pickup run. Someone had put up new POCOs at all my planets and put a 17% tax on them. I’m not too sure how all this stuff works, but I just launched my goods into space from the launchpad (which is what I’ve always been doing) and picked it up from the customs office. Do they get the tax that way? I loaded up an Epithal with as much coolant as it could handle and jumped that together with the Orca.

Man, after flying a Cheetah that Orca sure does feel slow. I was a bit worried about getting ganked with 2 billion in my Orca and 350 million in my Epithal, but the gates into Amarr are usually pretty quiet. On a related note, I just found out that I’ve been flying around with overviews that did not show “Attack Battlecruisers”. If I’m not mistaken that means I’ve been checking for Tornado camps without actually being able to see them. Very intelligent…

Fortunately there were no incidents and I docked into Amarr safely and offloaded my loot. All the PI goods sold off relatively fast but it will still take some time to clear all the various modules. I sold as many as I could to buy orders that I felt were reasonable, but there are still more than 100 items left that my trade alt will slowly sell off when his order slots get freed up (he only has 45). I’ll probably get a little less than 2 billion, maybe 1.7.

Of course, I immediately went shopping. I’ve been missioning for a long time with level 3 implants, mostly because I didn’t feel that the 1-2% improvements were worth the cost for +5 implants. However, as part of an upcoming plan I would need to set up some empty jump clones and put some implants into them from scratch. So I decided to splurge a bit with 2 sets of +4 attribute implants (never trained Cybernetics V…), +5s for cruise missile damage, target navigation prediction, guided missile precision and rapid launch, +5s for turret tracking, turret rate of fire, and large projectile turret damage, and some +3s to fill in the empty slots with stuff like capacitor recharge and shield hp. Total bill was around 1.3 billion, but hopefully they will last me for a long time.

2 thoughts on “Tidying up

  1. You pay a flat 15% NPC tax to launch PI goods into space. There is no skill to reduce that. That makes it slightly cheaper than using Interbus CO’s. With Customs Code Expertise IV on my PI toons, I am finding most POCO around me in empire have tax rates that come in at around 16%. For the planets that I don’t own I am reconfiguring my setups to launch into space too.

  2. Good to know that I did the right thing. I had the suspicion when I saw that 17% that it was very close to the “normal” rate, i.e. no reason to use the POCO. I bought a couple of those skillbooks too, only to realise that I don’t have the trade skill pre-reqs to use them.

Leave a Reply

